Make Cycle 2: Shared Purpose and Open Networks

make icon small

Welcome to Make Cycle Two in the Making Learning Connected collaboration! Let’s give facilitators Kevin Hodgson and Terry Elliott a big hand for kicking us off last week with a great cycle of making, using introductions to build shared experience and kickstarting our growing community. The variety of voices, approaches, and media─paint, memes, pottery, memoirs, blog posts, avatars, slideshows, photos, videos, animations─is a testament to our collective creativity, and we look forward to continuing to make, share, reflect, and explore Connected Learning with you.

For this second Make Cycle, we focus our thinking and reflection around the Connected Learning Design Principles, exploring the connections we make in open networks around shared purposes.  As you choose and produce your makes this week, we invite you to think about these questions:

  • What does it mean to be a maker? Why make? Why now?

  • What happens when makers converge around shared interests and purposes? What opportunities might we seize? What barriers do we face?

  • How do we find and build  diverse and inspiring networks of people, resources, and places that support our making and learning?

Please continue to share your “makes” this week in our Google Plus community and in the Make Bank, and think about branching off into your own spaces and your own networks─pursuing opportunities to connect with others around shared purposes and interests. There are no defined time limits to any of the Make Cycles we present this summer. If you are curious about what a typical cycle will look like, you can read through the post about the Arc of a Make Cycle.

Remember that this MOOC experience is about you. We are glad that you are here, and you are welcome to blog and bolt, make and leave, think and reflect, read and remake, or lurk and learn. Participate as much or as little as you like. You’re ok!

Make With Me!

For this second Make Cycle, one option is to grab an old toy─maybe something that you played with as a kid, or something from the bottom of your kid’s toy box, or perhaps a something that you rescued from abandon in a thrift shop or a yard sale. Study it, consider what it is, think about what it can be. Gather the things necessary to hack it, remix it, or remediate it─your analogue and/or digital tools. Take it apart, put it back together in a different configuration. Add something. Take something away. Make it sparkle. Make it move. Make it light up. Create a digital story, a fan-fiction mash-up, or film a stop-motion animation. If you make something offline, please post an image of your make to the Google Plus Making Learning Connected Community, so that we can see your creation for ourselves. Sharing your #toyhack is part of the “make” cycle here.  We also encourage you to try to connect with others, so consider commenting and reacting to at least three other #toyhack “makes” this week and connecting with other communities who share your interest in and passion for a particular kind of toy.

Places to Share

Here are some handy links that might help you with your sharing and connecting:

Live Events

  • We’re hosting an on-air #toyhack Google Hangout on Tuesday, June 25, at 8 p.m. Eastern ( 5 p.m. Pacific/ 6 p.m. Mountain/ 7 p.m Central) live streamed with a synchronous chat here at CLMOOC.
  • We will be hosting a Twitter Chat about the second week of the MOOC on Thursday, June 27 from 8-9 p.m. Eastern (5-6 p.m. Pacific / 6-7 p.m. Mountain/ 7-8 p.m. Central) with the #clmooc hashtag

Need More Information?

Finally …

Embrace the ethos of being a maker and make connections with us in the Making Learning Connected Collaboration and with others who share your interests and passions. Give yourself permission to do something new. Give yourself permission to linger on something old. Give yourself permission to do something fun. And finally, give yourself permission to fail and to succeed ─ knowing that we’ll clap for you either way.

All the best,

Stephanie West-Puckett and Karen Fasimpaur and the rest of the Making Learning Connected MOOC facilitators